Would-be MP on depression battle

Scottish Labour Party activist Zoe Smith had expected to spend the night after the general election waiting to learn how many people had voted for her in North East Fife. Instead she spent it in a psychiatric ward, receiving treatment for bipolar disorder.

I was depressed, I was crying, I was struggling to get out of bed in the morning.

BUT she had a community psychiatric nurse and then she went to hospital : Two weeks later she was admitted to an NHS psychiatric ward. She believes the experience did little to aid her recovery. “Initially I was grateful to be in hospital because I felt safe. I was hopeful I was going to go into hospital and get better but it was the wrong thing to hope for. “It was a hideous environment. It was probably the most depressing place I’ve ever been. “No-one there knew me before I was ill and suddenly they were controlling my life. “All they offered were drugs and containment. There was no therapy at all.”

During an episode of depression, you may have overwhelming feelings of worthlessness which often lead to thoughts of suicide

And these thoughts  only increase if your GP tells you to go away as  he will do nothing, as does my current GP in Neath. Or in fact EVERY FKN DOCTOR I HAVE EVER SEEN IN NEATH. Except one when we somehow got talking about my cats.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

