The right level of support, my arse

I had hoped not to write a letter like this but as I had not heard from C*****surgery regarding “the correct level of support” I presented to Dr G**** yesterday morning. I mentioned that your department had apparently contacted C**** surgery and he agreed that there was a telephone call from the Local Health Board but did not volunteer any information or offer any treatment, instead he asked what I wanted which shows that there could be a serious communication breakdown. He tried to talk about Dr L*****’s recent comments but I said that I was not in his surgery to discuss that, I was there for help about my threat to commit suicide. Help which appeared not be forthcoming as he asked me what help I wanted. He did however offer me support to retrieve documents from my Medical Notes, which, even without his help, is my right. I know because I have copies of the documentation that Dr Dai Sheepman wrote where he denies his responsibilities as a doctor working under the Auspices of the NHS. Documentation that was IGNORED by the NHS Complaint™ service and documentation that PROVES I am right in my complaint against Dr Dai Sheepman.

I can, I suppose, live with my current medical condition and “no pulses in both arms” if the cause of my unending stress is removed but I cannot even leave the house without being reminded of the career I needlessly lost thanks to Dr Dai Sheepman. I said in my previous letter that I do not look forward to the replies considering those I have received so far and to date that fear was not misplaced.

If I threatened to kill Dr Dai Sheepman then all hell would break loose but if I threaten to kill myself BECAUSE of his intentional destruction of my life nobody does anything. There are two scenarios, one I do as I have threatened or I get answers and explanations from Dr Dai Sheepman. After today’s appointment the latter seems even more remote. As does “the correct level of support” for my ideation. It is very dangerous for someone to call my bluff, as I feel happened yesterday, and also should I have to explain the reasons I wish to kill myself BEFORE I can get treatment, It shows the doctor is NOT listening to me. But considering the responses I have received when ever I expressed my problems previously, for example I kept getting told “to move on” and “somethings will/cannot be resolved”, this is normal. Are they intentionally ignoring me as it is written that it is a doctor’s responsibility to report under performing doctors? And in effect they are denying me treatment I need.

The problem regarding my pulses is due to doctors trying to prove I have heart disease rather than, initially determine the CAUSE of my high blood pressure etc and eliminating them. The stress I am forced to undergo daily has a definite cause, which is universally ignored. For example I have been sent to two “exercise programs for people with heart disease” but when I mentioned to one that I walk 5-6 miles a day, run up stairs and deal unsuccessfully sadly, with a very large garden they agreed that I did more exercise than they could arrange. I also mentioned that I was told that my heart disease was misdiagnosed. The second one from Cardiff University did not even offer me the common decency to reply to my query.

From my experiences with the “Mental Health Services” tm and now the more general aspects of the NHS I agree with the opinion formed by Professor Rosenhan in 1972, of the way doctors operate. This explains BOTH of my problems simply.

Rosenhan’s study consisted of two parts. The first involved the use of healthy associates or “pseudopatients,” who briefly simulated auditory hallucinations in an attempt to gain admission to 12 different psychiatric hospitals in five different states in various locations in the United States. The second involved asking staff at a psychiatric hospital to detect non-existent “fake” patients. In the first case hospital staff failed to detect a single pseudopatient, in the second the staff falsely identified large numbers of genuine patients as impostors. The study is considered an important and influential criticism of psychiatric diagnosis.

The study concluded, “It is clear that we cannot distinguish the sane from the insane in psychiatric hospitals” and also illustrated the dangers of depersonalisation and labelling in psychiatric institutions. It suggested that the use of community mental health facilities which concentrated on specific problems and behaviours rather than psychiatric labels might be a solution and recommended education to make psychiatric workers more aware of the social psychology of their facilities.

Substitute “insanity” with, in my case, cardiology.and that explains the problem with the treatment you are interested in. Some one mentioned I had had a “silent” heart-attack and from then on my treatment was BASED on that rather than proving that that diagnosis was correct and look what happened as they investigated my “misdiagnosed” heart condition.

Professor Rosenhan’s study said “In the first case hospital staff failed to detect a single pseudopatient, in the second the staff falsely identified large numbers of genuine patients as impostors.” Both scenarios are mine thanks to Dr Dai Sheepman’s initial, catastrophic diagnosis. I WAS sane then but no one listened to me throughout the ”treatment” initiated by Dr Dai Sheepman and NOW when I have an iatrogenic mental illness I am, allegedly, falsely identified as an impostor when really I am a genuine patient.

So it is still the first scenario with my “heart” and I am on the second scenario with my ideations. The suicidal ideations directly because of the misdiagnosis in 1998. The incident with Dr R**, as stated in my letter to ………….. CEO of ABM University NHS Trust also shows that universally doctors do not listen to patients. I have tried and failed to see the logic in the NHS Complainttm service. I as a patient in West Glamorgan cannot be alone in the above scenarios.

I don’t want to die by my own hand but now that seems more likely. Dr G K**** sent me to Tonna Hospital Mental Health Resources BECAUSE I was an ungrateful patient as I tried to ask questions about my “heart” condition and now when I really need help it appears I cannot be referred.

Throughout the last ten years one thing sticks out. The patient is not allowed to get answers to questions about their treatment, especially when they have the audacity to complain about “one of their friends” So a patient is not allowed to question a doctor’s diagnosis in order that he may understand the disease process and treatment. A doctors word is final and unquestionable, or so they believe.

This letter is a bit chaotic as I cannot put my anger and sadness into words with the realisation, again, that no one cares about me. And Dr Dai Sheepman gets away scot free having refused to reply professionally.

I have three weeks left. I cannot live like this. 23 years as a NHS dentist TOTALLY destroyed by a catastrophic misdiagnosis and the response is “kill yourself”, we don’t care.

I have an appointment on the 15th December for a 12 hour blood pressure monitor following the problems with my medication Ramipril and Amlodipine. This will be placed on my right arm and will ensure that I am in effect “crippled” for the day as I am unable to use my left hand for anything like the original full extent. If my blood pressure is raised then they will treat the SYMPTOMS and definitely not the CAUSE.

Please re-read the Medical Opinion and the compliment slip for the REASON I wish to die.

Transcript of letter to the Welsh Health Minister

Tags: , ,

One Response to “The right level of support, my arse”

  1. Mandy Says:

    The correct level of support. Ha! ha!

    For one thing you are not some suck up of a patient and because you dare to question you have become an enemy of the state.

    Your communications have been neatly placed in the “Let them fekk off and die” file.

    Long may your ventings continue, although not sure it is doing your blood pressure any good but better to die fighting than lie down and (as quoted – or near enough – on another nifty blog) let the systemites piss all over you.

    There is no justice..except maybe some poetic justice and I hoodwinked that from Foundation Trust Watch site as well.

Leave a Reply

