Hospital rang, I have high potassium levels

its 19.52 in the UK and the local hospital have rung to say the above and not to worry NOT TO FUCKIN WORRY.

I quote from here;

The effects of elevated potassium levels are related to the health of your heart. When potassium stays in your blood because your kidneys aren’t filtering it out, you may experience weakness accompanied by an irregular heartbeat. This condition, called hyperkalemia, can be detected with an electrocardiogram after you exhibit symptoms.

had one taken recently a day after similar symptoms.

Potassium is a substance essential to your body. A mineral in nature,  is considered an electrolyte. Electrolytes are charged particles, containing ions, whose tiny electrical charge helps to send messages through your nerves. Therefore, either elevated or lowered levels of potassium will affect your nervous system by sending inaccurate signals, sometimes resulting in paralysis.

Elevated potassium levels have the effects of numerous uncomfortable and possibly dangerous symptoms. You may feel tired and weak or have difficulty moving your digits or limbs due to mild paralysis. Continued hyperkalemia can lead to a disrupted heartbeat called arrhythmia. Arrhythmia should be corrected as soon as possible.

I underline my symptoms. The 1st ECG a while back showed that “I had a silent heart attack. The one recently is described AGAIN here 

quote I started feeling faint and clammy. Sweat started pouring out of my forehead. I felt I was fading away which is  really the only way to describe it. My left arm went numb and my little finger still is numbish. I couldn’t even slide out the chair to get my ‘phone , in case.

I HAD asked for reassurance about my heart condition here with Dr K and got sent as an ungrateful patient to Tonna Mental health Unit where they talked about my suicidal tendencies.

I have not been able to play my guitar for the last 2 years at least BECAUSE of the numbness and CRAMP in my left 3 and 4 fingers “pinky and left ring finger” and loss of the radial pulse and THIS was the reason for the 5 Angiograms and the eventual loss of the other, right, radial pulse. Described as the way I sat by Dr J in Dyfed Road Surgery Neath.

My heart HAS irregular beats I KEEP SAYING SO well until Dr K shouted at me. Like NOW for example, my heart sounds like a samba rhythm

AND THEN THIS earlier today

This was the 1st test for potassium levels I believe I have ever had, Thanks Dr Gama, but could the high potassium level have been the CORRECT diagnosis for my heart condition. I had an echo scan pre operatively which said my heart LOOKED anatomically sound, which I would assume it would cos I’d imagine Potassium ions are pretty small.

Could my misdiagnosed heart condition have been the potassium thing ALL ALONG?

and so I lost the pulse in my right arm because …. of medical incompetence just like Dr A destroyed my career etc etc

AND The WELSH NHS say there is nothing they will do , but Dr A is exemplary. They don’t know about the potassium bit … yet.

NO NEED TO COMMIT SUICIDE THEY ARE SUCCESSFULLY KILLING ME BY NEGLIGENCE.

I was told in 1984 that moving to Wales was like moving to a 4th World Country as the Health Service there was abysmal.

I took that remark as racism.  THEN

How true that remark was.

Technorati Tags: ,,
Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Hospital rang, I have high potassium levels”

  1. William Sole Says:

    Blogging keeps me insane. Keep up all the positive work. I too love to blog. I found this one to be very informative

  2. nikki Says:

    Hey…Glad to see you have not let the NHS kill your sense of humour! Can really relate to your comment “no need to commit suicide they are successfully killing me by negligence”. We should swap notes…LOL! If you get the chance check the website i’m starting to build. In 1990 my mum died of a subarachnoid haemorrhage from a ruptured brain aneurysm. Doctors kept sending her away saying nothing was wrong! Then in 2006 I started getting pins and needles in fingers, losing balance, slurred speech, losing thread of words, short term memory loss so went to doctor as I was worried about going on holiday. She sent me away with antidepressants saying have a nice time and come back in a month…well 13 days later in Turkey I suffered a subarachnoid haemorrhage from 2 ruptured brain aneurysms. One of which could not be repaired as by the time they managed to get me back to the UK all that was left was an atrophic segment. Believe me when you are under holiday insurance, for something like that the company don’t agree to cough up quickly and there was a delay of 5days before I got adequate treatment and that was only because the British Consulate stepped in. You try to get them for medical negligence…impossible!!! One thing i’ve learnt since then is we pay for our mistakes doctors can hide theirs. Good luck with your health…so hope you get better.

Leave a Reply

